Skip to content

Blackberry Cable

June 2, 2013

2013-06 Blackberry cable (1) Since I last wrote about something that wasn’t my camp nano novel (how about that, eh?) and/or crap poetry – I have bought a SPINNING WHEEL.

I got overexcited at Wonderwool, or something.

Anyway, here is my first attempt at a cabled yarn. It’s kind of pretty 🙂
(The real colour is darker than I could manage with the camera – more wine-red, less purple.)

I had roughly 75g altogether of three different reddish-purples as tops, and if you’re interested, here’s what I did:

  • Split each colour lengthwise into eight roughly equal sections. (I might have halved the top and then split into four lengthwise sections, I can’t remember.)
  • Spun the lot clockwise into one single, reasonably fine and as even as I could manage – not very! – taking each colour in turn. I switched the order of the colours about half way through because I thought that might be good. I’m not sure if it made a difference, but my logic was that it might reduce colour overlap when I plied it back on itself in the next step.
  • So then I wound the single into a centre-pull cake, and plied it on itself using both ends, ran it through the wheel one more time (anti-clockwise both times) to add extra twist.
  • The final step was to wind the plied yarn into another centre-pull cake, and ply it back again, this time clockwise.

2013-06 Blackberry cable (2)So the second picture shows the cabling quite clearly, the way the strands seem to interlock in some magical way. The overall yarn weight is probably “chunky” – I can’t be bothered to measure the wpi.

I can’t promise the whole length of the yarn is as good as this 5cm section, but it would have been worth the whole kerfuffle even if this were the only good bit in the whole yarn. It makes me happy just to look at it.

I have to give a quick plug to the Spinner’s Book of Yarn Designs (by Sarah Anderson) which is awesome. This technique is from there and I can’t wait to try something else new…. But first, I really need to get some more fluff!

– Back to carding alpaca….

Vital statistics:

Name: Blackberry Cable
Fibre: Merino
Skein weight: 75g
Yardage: 73m (or, more specifically, 49 times round the niddy-noddy)
Yarn weight: Chunky
Yarn construction – 4-ply cabled

One Comment leave one →
  1. June 3, 2013 8:43 pm

    AAAAAARRRRRHHH that is so awesome

Comments very welcome!

