Skip to content

Peregrination: The fourth wall

April 29, 2013

“She’s awake!” I leaned over her to check her vital signs.
Karen opened her eyes.

“It’s alright, love. You’re safe.”
“What happened?” She was drowsy, confused.
“We’re still trying to figure it out. Seems there was a gas leak. Something hallucinogenic.”

She sat up.
“But it seemed so – ”
“Real?”
She nodded. “Where are the others?”

“Others?”
I tried to play innocent, but I was never much of a liar.
“Yes,” she said coldly. “The others.”
Shit. Was she on to me?

“Let me get you some water.” I backed away.
She swung her legs out of bed. Did not seem dozy enough. Had I forgotten the sedatives?

She pointed to the wall by the sofa-bed. Stabbed it with her finger.
“What’s that?” she demanded.
“Karen, I don’t know. It’s just a hole.”
She inspected it. Put her eye to it. I held my breath.

“You bloody evil twisted little witch!” she said. “How could you?”

“I don’t know what you mean,” I said. I tried to pour the water. Struggled to keep the cup steady.
And then she woke up…. Really? Really?”
“I don’t – ”
“How stupid do you think I am?”

There was no good answer to that. I didn’t attempt one.
She crossed my study, grabbed my shoulder.

“Put me back there. Put me back right now.”
“I don’t know what you mean.”
“You’re not real!” she shouted. Right in my face. “You’re not real! I’m real. ME! Not you.”
I could feel her fingers digging into me. She was more real than I could wish her to be.

“Put me back.”
I nodded, defeated.

“With swords.”
“What?”
“I’m going to need some magic swords.”
“I can’t just – ”
“Jesus. If you’re cretinous enough to try And then she woke up, then you’re cretinous enough to get some magic swords in. Sort it.”
“Alright,” I said. “But please let go of my shoulder.”

She relaxed her grip, but looked just as menacing as before.

“One more thing.”
“What?”
“If things look tough, I want a deus ex machina. No messing about, right?”
“But how -”
“I don’t care. Daleks, squirrels, muddy socks? The time lord. Electricity pylons. I don’t give a damn – it’s your job. You must have some spare prompts lying around.”

I sighed and waved my hand. She disappeared.
I switched on my laptop, and googled Deus ex machina.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. April 29, 2013 10:36 pm

    Wordcount 393.
    Prompts – yeah.

    So close to the finale!

  2. April 30, 2013 6:53 am

    brilliant – this is my favourite so far – I love a bit of fourth wall demolition -see what adrenalin near a deadline does? xx

Comments very welcome!

