Skip to content

Entr’acte: The Goddess Within

April 4, 2013

gnarled-treeHazel left Mike in charge and went to find Lena.

Lena’d been leading a workshop on Finding The Goddess Within. Hazel hoped that she’d mentioned the Goddess was Within their shop.

She arrived early, waited outside. She sat by the Spirit Tree and drew her knees up to her chin, leaning into the gnarled wood: the Women’s Tent on one side, the Yurt of Man on the other.

She was a ship setting sail – in hostile waters between one port and the other. She wondered if she would find her own Goddess Within.

She could dream it: blue, and wild.

14 Comments leave one →
  1. April 4, 2013 8:48 pm

    Wordcount – 100
    Prompt – Friday Fictioneers photo-prompt.
    http://rochellewisofffields.wordpress.com/2013/04/03/5-april-2013/

    This is a little side-road between Chapters 3 and 4.
    Chapters 1 to 3 are published already – links in sidebar! – and I’m currently writing Chapter 4.

    Please leave a comment with a prompt suggestion for Chapter 5 (and beyond!)
    (Check the sidebar for a link to more info about this interactive project!)

  2. April 4, 2013 9:52 pm

    I like dreaming blue and wild. Reminds me of an ocean, but I like the sound of it.

    janet

  3. April 5, 2013 1:51 am

    I like that last line too. While being stuck between two hostile ports isn’t so great in real life, it makes for some interesting conflict in fiction. Sounds like a good place for dreaming.

  4. April 5, 2013 2:32 am

    Good story.

  5. Mystikel permalink
    April 5, 2013 8:36 am

    “She could dream it: blue, and wild.”

    I love that line.

  6. April 5, 2013 10:15 am

    The Godess Within the shop and the Yurt of Man made me laugh out loud.
    great stuff 🙂

  7. April 5, 2013 4:44 pm

    Very spiritual

  8. April 5, 2013 5:50 pm

    Very good, I especially like the bit about the hostile waters between. 🙂

  9. April 5, 2013 6:04 pm

    Thanks everyone for your comments and feedback. I’m madly busy writing the nano novel, so I’m resisting the urge to reply to you all individually – wish I could!

    If anyone would like to leave a prompt for a future chapter, that would be very awesome too!

    xx

  10. April 6, 2013 10:55 am

    Dear Ariadne,
    I like the idea of connecting with my inner goddess. Keep writing.
    shalom,
    Rochelle

  11. April 6, 2013 11:48 pm

    Hi, would you consider re-blogging this for me?
    I’m asking for submissions

    http://ejrunyon.wordpress.com/2013/04/02/call-for-fiction-excerpts-submissions/

    Thank you

    • April 7, 2013 12:03 am

      Thanks for your interest. The pieces I write here are not really intended for that kind of treatment, so I’d prefer not to be included. Good luck with your project!

  12. April 7, 2013 6:56 pm

    A sweet, promising ending to this.

  13. April 8, 2013 4:35 pm

    I’m with Sustainabilitea here- that last line is beautiful. Nice story!

Comments very welcome!

