Skip to content

Preparation – utter madness

March 30, 2013

Well, I think I’ve let myself in for some bonkers kind of challenge, complete with self-imposed extra-challenging bits just in case the original vanilla-flavoured challenge isn’t challenging enough.

Help me.

(Did you hear something?)

During April I will be doing Camp NaNoWriMo. This is slightly less hardcore than standard NaNoWriMo, as you can set your own wordcount goal – but the principle is the same.

I’ve set myself 30,000 words.
In 30 days.

I don’t, as of yet, have a plot. Or any characters. Or anything at all really, other than a stubborn determination not to be defeated by a trivial 30k challenge.

So, in lieu of a plot, and considering what fun I’m having with the prompted writing, I have confected the following arbitrary bonus rules:

  1. I will start on 1 April with a prompt from one of the groups I am already following, and post an instalment of around 1,000 to 1,200 words.
  2. After each post, commenters can suggest a prompt for the next post. Note – Suggestions will probably not qualify unless they are reasonably open: a word, a phrase, an image, or a name are all good; detailed plot instructions, not so much.
      • If there is commenter consensus, I will use your prompt for the next post.
      • If there is no consensus, I will pick a suggested prompt that appeals to me.
      • If there are no commenter suggestions (just wait, my pessimism is infectious) and/or if one of my regular prompt sources has a particularly inspiring prompt – I will go with one of those prompts instead.
  3. By the end of April this will result (by some magical means) in an interactive community literary production of outstanding quality. It will certainly stand out.

Help me.

(What was that?)

Seriously. Help me.

[TOMW]

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Carla Hurst-Chandler permalink
    March 31, 2013 12:10 am

    Great idea! Can’t wait to see where you go with this 🙂

    • March 31, 2013 12:11 am

      Nor can I!!

  2. March 31, 2013 6:09 am

    I cannot wait and am SO excited you are going to be part of the Cabin in our secret hideout at the rope course… *doing the secret handshake* don’t forget the truffle oil monday night! * waggling eyebrows*

    • March 31, 2013 8:38 am

      Haha! It’s OK, just one more day to go 😀

Comments very welcome!

