Skip to content

Sunday Scribbling – It’s out there…

March 17, 2013

This month was supposed to be NaNoEdMo for me. I fully intended to edit the heck out of my 2012 Nano novel. I haven’t even opened the file. One day, I nearly did, and then didn’t.

One might regard this as a failure. But if there’s one thing I’ve learned about life (and there are several, in fact, but there’s definitely this one), it’s that failure can be found wherever you look for it. I’ve spent most of my life noticing the failures, and hardly any of it noticing the successes. Those – arrogantly, self-destructively – I took for granted.  This, I am learning to change.

So, no, I haven’t done any editing.

But I have been writing most days. Even when I haven’t felt like it, I’ve dragged my mouse over to the menu item that says “New Post” and written something and then, even if the something I’ve written has been frankly pretty rubbish, I have clicked “Publish”.

I’ve picked up a bunch of likes for a bunch of posts, and even some followers – people I don’t know in real life! squee! – and that is lovely too. (Waves hello! Feel free to comment, people. It makes me feel like I’m actually addressing someone….)

I’ve found that writing with a prompt really helps. (Thanks be to TOMW!) It stops the blind panic of the blank page. It cuts through the voice of the inner editor, demanding to know why I’m writing about that and who cares anyway.

And, idly surfing today, I found a new writing prompt blog that, happily enough, posts weekly Sunday prompts. Let’s see if I can knock something out before bedtime…

****************

I hid under the table. It wasn’t much of a place to hide, but the library was dark and the chair-legs would provide confusing shadows. I hoped. I breathed, but silently.

The creaking was getting louder now, and it seemed to be coming from everywhere at once.

At first it had been barely perceptible, and that had been creepy enough. It was the Things. I knew it with a stone cold certainty. Nana had warned me often and at length, and there was not a single particle of doubt throughout my being. It was the Things.

The creaking was the noise of reality being stretched and tested. And now it was accompanied by a low susurration that might have been whispering or might have been wordless; it might have been the sound of silken feathers sliding over leathery skin.

I shuddered. The Things were out there. And they wanted to come in. In my mind, I measured the distance to the door, and calculated the odds. But the odds were zero, because if the Things got in they wouldn’t just be here. They would be everywhere.

I slowly crept from my hiding place. I stood up. I shouted: “NO!”

The creaking stopped briefly and then began again, louder than ever with that whispering all woven in. They wanted me to use what I had, and I was powerful, I knew that. I had learned power. But my kind of power would not help me now. It was the wrong kind, the kind that drew them on and gave them strength. The kind of power I have been taught is the kind that can be taken from me and used against me. They wanted it.

I stood. I shouted. There was nothing else to try. I told them to GO AWAY. I bullied them. Nobody likes you, anyway.

Laughably, it worked.

The noise and commotion receded, faded into silence. I stood, still, listening, unable to believe it. They had given up, and I was alone. At least for now.

[Prompt source – Sunday Scribblings]
Inspired also by too much Terry Pratchett…

11 Comments leave one →
  1. March 17, 2013 11:15 pm

    Delightful story… if only those words worked on all the bullies of the world! I agree with your comments about being too hard on ourselves, noting only our failures and not celebrating our successes. If you are writing a bit everyday, that’s a great start. I try to maintain that discipline too. I’ve also found that posts I wrote that I thought were drivel were sometimes the ones that got the best response… go figure! 🙂 There are other excellent weekly writing prompts as well, you can find a short list in the sidebar on my blog. Welcome to Sunday Scribblings, it’s an easy one to write for, and it’s fun to see what everyone does with the prompt!

    • March 18, 2013 8:28 pm

      Thanks, and hello! I’ll be sure to come check out your blog & links. x

  2. March 18, 2013 8:19 pm

    Sharp and snappy; very good writing…

    • March 18, 2013 8:27 pm

      Thanks! 🙂

  3. March 18, 2013 8:31 pm

    Wonderful introduction! Just felt like commenting on that as I read!

    • March 18, 2013 8:33 pm

      Hello! Comment away! 🙂

  4. March 18, 2013 8:37 pm

    “At least for now” indeed…yes, the power of the mind…good stuff!

  5. March 19, 2013 5:44 am

    She did the right thing, but they will be back. As she get’s older her power will weaken…what then? I can see her under the table, knees to her chest working up the courage to confront them…excellent.

    • March 19, 2013 10:33 am

      Oh, I wonder if her power will weaken. Maybe this is her first encounter with the Thing… Maybe next time she’ll be stronger.

  6. April 3, 2013 8:03 pm

    Thanks for stopping by my blog and following it. I thought I stopped by and see what you were up to other than Friday Fictioneers. This was a nicely creep story and I like that the Things can be whatever someone thinks they are. The nebulous nature gets readers thinking.

    So March is the month to edit the novels that were written in November (is that the right month)? Our younger daughter has done the writing month a number of times but is too busy now with art school.

    janet

    • April 3, 2013 10:36 pm

      *hello*!
      I still haven’t edited the November novel but (as you may have spotted if you checked out other posts on my blog) I’m doing a new one now… right here!

Comments very welcome!

