Skip to content

Wind up, wind down

July 6, 2012

When everything is a bit crap, it helps to have a new toy.

I’ve caked a couple of 50g balls of sock yarn today. This is in aid of my second Ravellenic challenge, which is to knit a pair of socks on the machine.

This yarn came from balls rather than long skeins so it was very much a two-handed job – much more manageable. Miss Fly and I make a pretty good team though for caking long skeins.

No more dismal, hurty hand-winding for me. The winder is so amazingly quick, and I do love a bit of yarn cake! šŸ™‚

This week has been a bit of a struggle. Work things (which I can’t go into) and family things (which I can’t go into) have been combining to make the world a yucky place.

But. Onwards and upwards.

Miss Fly and I played at being silly and joyful, and it’s funny how very much that helped make all my woes recede. I’m so unbelievably proud of her – she is a miraculous little person, full of love and goodness, common sense, creativity and kindness. I don’t know how she got to be so damn wonderful. She tells me she is very super happy. Which puts everything into perspective.

I may even get back on track this weekend with the house. I’ve been lax about normal routines all week but the worst thing has been that I didn’t even make a meal plan, or a shopping list, or anything. When last week’s plan ran out on Tuesday we just started to make do. The bad old days – back with a vengeance. How easy it was to slip back to it.

The difference is that now I know what good comes of planning in advance, shopping to a list, and cooking proper meals. With a bit of luck that will be all I need to actually make a plan for next week, and get back with the programme… But the negative, bad little voice is strong right now. I hear it whining all day long. I hear it and I hate it but it won’t stop.

Onwards and upwards. Maybe.

No comments yet

Comments very welcome!

