Skip to content

A very exciting week!

June 18, 2012

oooooh!

On Tuesday last week I won an ebay auction for a knitting machine. Which was very exciting. A knitting machine!

My mum used to have one when I was small, and I’ve had a hankering for one for a while, but I’ve never actually had a go on one before.

I wasn’t expecting amazing things because I got it for a tenner, but it was only half an hour up the road and you never know… besides, the massive bag of yarn that was included in the lot had to be worth a tenner by itself. 🙂

I arrived at the person’s house to collect my prize and was offered, for a further tenner, both a second machine AND a ribber AND a bag of assorted accessories. I tried not to squeal too much in case the lady thought I was too weird and changed her mind about letting me drive off with all her things.

So anyway, I am now the proud owner of a Knitmaster 321, a Knitmaster 326 (same machine but with a knit radar which is, apparently, a Good Thing although I haven’t yet got to the stage where it makes a difference) and a ribber of some kind. Imagine winning an Ashford spinning wheel for a tenner and turning up to be offered a second wheel, a drum carder, a big bag of fluff and a stack of bobbins. It was that kind of windfall.

The 326 was filthy and had some rust damage (but cosmetic, I think – I am still cleaning and will need to buy it some new needles) but the 321 was in great condition and is working like a charm. All it needed was a bit of a clean and a new sponge bar, which I fitted today, and all good things are good.

So far I’m just making swatches – long swatches roll up on themselves lengthwise to make rather excellent snakes and I’m currently postponing the inevitable casting-off of doom on the third one – my first effort at stripes.  That amazingly big bag is full of yarn that I wouldn’t exactly have chosen for making garments – but it is perfect for practice – and these snakes will, I suspect, wrap themselves quite perfectly around bike racks if I feel a yarn bomb coming on…

All is going well and the next step is i-cord.

Meanwhile, there are lots of mysterious accessories whose purpose I am yet to fathom. Like this one:

 

2 Comments leave one →
  1. June 19, 2012 12:01 pm

    That’s a ‘magic cam’, there should be two – one for each side of the carriage. You attach them when you want to knit single motifs. If I remember right you can’t use them on the 321.

    Sounds like you’re going to have lots of fun learning your machines – good luck!

    • June 19, 2012 2:20 pm

      Thank you susy! I love your videos by the way!
      xx

Comments very welcome!

