Skip to content

Eurovision, Jubilympics, humbug

May 30, 2012

Traditionally, after a sustained period of blogging most days, followed by a week or more of silence, one is expected to make a big song and dance about it. Not so here. Lost the internets for a couple of days, had a busy weekend, caught a bit of a bug. End of. Phew.

Also, it’s been a bit hot.

And now that summer is finally here we can start looking forward, of course, to the frenzy of cupboard patriotism that is the Jubilympics.

Street parties over a four-day weekend with plenty of union-jack waving and queen-toasting. Olympic torch parades that just meander on and on, pointlessly and irritatingly taking airtime from more important and less dull happenings around the globe, and closing down roads, for hours, one at a time. And then, the crescendo of crescendoes, a juggernaut of endless – ENDLESS – running and jumping and throwing things and – coming to our true national sport – complaining that “we” haven’t won enough medals.

My neighbours have put up a flag. So have I. It gave me a great opportunity to lecture Miss Fly on the subject of international harmony and fraternity, along with the evils of blind patriotism.

Still, must stop griping. I have, after all, had a genuinely excellent May.

May is my favourite month of year anyway – it has two bank holidays (well, not this year, but never mind – I’m getting an extra one next week so no complaints), Beltane, my birthday, the beginning of summer, Gifford’s circus, Leveller’s day, Eurovision and more.

But this one has been truly excellent in very nearly every respect. Chicken death aside, it could only have been better if Russia had actually won Eurovision.

And (whispers) I might even go to a street party over the weekend. But only if I can solve my wardrobe quandary. Do I wear my “**** you! I’m the queen!” T-shirt, or do I wear Union Jack underwear on the outside of my clothes?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. May 31, 2012 9:39 am

    Why not wear both!

    • May 31, 2012 3:47 pm

      I had considered it – but the bra would obscure the slogan so it will have to be one or t’other!

Comments very welcome!

