Skip to content

PuffTarts

May 22, 2012

PuffTart

The magic of puff pastry!

I’ve always loved making things out of puff pastry (always bought in ready made; maybe one day I should actually have a go at making it myself although, like crumpets, I suspect it’s not worth the bother). It’s so exciting to see how much it rises. It’s yummy and flaky too. 🙂

This is a new trick for me – a neat little turnover that makes puff pastry tarts super-easy and gives them cute little decorate corners, too. I think I will be making more of these!

These ones had mixed veg (yellow pepper and onion, both pre-roasted, along with some tomato and mushroom) and mozzarella. I think you could put anything in them though, as long as there is a little moisture involved somewhere.

(Oh, and now I think I want to make some palmiers too. Yummy and fun.)

In the same baking session we also made experimental rhubarb and strawberry muffins. They turned out OK, but I think I want to try them with more rhubarb and less strawberry next time. I’ll have to hurry though – I don’t think rhubarb season is going to last much longer! We now have three plants on the allotment but only one has been in production this year (one is newly transplanted and the other has been having to fight off Jerusalem artichokes) and it seems to have slowed down a lot. One more harvest, if we’re lucky, and then we’ll have to leave it to recover its spirits.

We did have more rhubarb today, but Miss Fly insisted on using at least some of it for a rhubarb crumble. We made a very small one of those, with the remainder of last week’s plums for good measure, and baked it as soon as there was a shelf free in the oven. Miss Fly ate it all to herself and only let me have one spoonful.

She’s very happy about all the baking. So am I.

No comments yet

Comments very welcome!

