Skip to content

Chicken update

May 22, 2012
tags:

Still in production!

My two surviving chickens are still alive. And one of them is laying.

I had thought that dear old Paxo was my only laying chicken – but it seems I was giving her credit were none was due. Eggs have continued to appear at just the same, slow rate (one every couple of days) despite the Disaster.

Every time I look at them I have a little skip and sing out in my heart “You’re still alive! Hooray!” There’s nothing like brush with death, and loss, to make you cherish the things that remain.

Both of them have become persistent housebreakers. The backdoor only has to be open for a moment before they’re trying their luck. Today I was reading on the sofa and one of them appeared, suddenly, at my elbow. It was Kirby, always up to something that one, but even Ellie is making regular appearances and looking for crumbs under the dinner-table.

And something odd is going on with EllieBuster. Ellie, the evasive one; Ellie, the escape artist; Ellie, the wild and antisocial girl, independent-minded, spirited, aloof, cat-like. I think she is warming to me. She certainly seems to run away less than she used to.

This morning she crouched down for me and let me stroke her. I hope she is warming to me. An alternative, less appealing theory is that her spirit is breaking and she is learning to be submissive. Or maybe she acknowledges me as her cock now that I have chased away a dog. I wonder if I like the thought of being their symbolic cock.

I have no idea what goes on in their chickeny minds.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. May 23, 2012 12:34 am

    I hope the eggs keep coming 🙂

    • May 23, 2012 7:09 am

      Thank you! Me too!

Comments very welcome!

