Skip to content

Hot new app

May 14, 2012

Doubting kitty

I am rubbish at being poorly.

I thought I should get that out of the way at the beginning. I have the worst cough of all time, and coughs are inherently the worst illness it’s possible to have, with the possible (only possible, mind you) exception of those leading to certain death.

However that may be, and accepting that I might be exaggerating very slightly – coughs are definitely the most gut-wrackingly irritating of all the minor ailments.

I am rubbish at being poorly. Did I mention?

So, anyway, I am quite possibly at death’s door, despite or maybe because of the assorted pills, eye-watering vapours and vile cough medicine that I am quaffing on a regular basis.

Nevertheless – and bravely, I thought – we went to Woodcraft tonight (yay) and made tooters for the Leveller’s Day parade next Saturday.  Actually, “tooters” does not quite do justice to the cacophonous plague of noisemakers that were created. Miss Fly’s sounds genuinely elephantine, despite or maybe because of being covered by turquoise tissue paper and assorted stickers and metallic streamers and having a double trumpet.

Fortunately, we remembered to take a cardboard tube, as per the instructions. Which leads me on, quite neatly, I think, to a few brief remarks on my latest new remembering-things app.

I was finding checking the calendar on my phone / internet a bit of a pain, to be honest, not to mention adding new appointments. I spent ages looking for a better online calendar, a more usable app – something with more functionality, better accessibility. Faster, higher, stronger. Citius, Altius, Fortius. Or something.

And then it hit me. It was menu planning (a sheet of A4 paper stuck to the fridge, torn-off scraps from last week’s menu marking pages in the recipe book) that triggered the epiphany.

Blue is the new black.
Paper is the new app.

On the plus side: easier to add new things, wherever I am – instant access to check existing entries, even without an internet connection – doesn’t use up any batteries – and comes with useful information like the dialling code for Lithuania and the national public holidays in Mexico, how to convert nautical miles into kilometres, and how many minutes there are in a lunar month (40,320, as it happens).

On the minus side: takes up a bit more space in my bag – and doesn’t automatically populate recurring events like when I’m due to worm the cat or unleash raging PMT on the world (and prior warning of the latter at least is a big plus).

I’ve never been able to keep up with a proper diary before – but then FlyLady is teaching me to do a lot of things I’ve never been able to do before, so I am undaunted. I’ll just have to be really anal about it until it becomes habitual. And if it means I have to have zero tolerance on bag clutter, then that’s no bad thing either.

No comments yet

Comments very welcome!

